2021私校申请系列讲座 #3

专击私校入学的家庭闪光打磨法

私校申请并非递交申请、参加测评那么简单,因为建立家庭档案、培养学生软硬实力都不可能一蹴而就,而需要长期的时间累积才能达成。所以,唯有未雨绸缪提早准备,才能真正赢在起点!但在进入申请准备阶段之前,请先了解2021申请年的重点趋势与校方期待,毕竟要在明确申请方向与计划之后,才能事半功倍地进行私校申请准备。

值得注意的是,私校申请人数每年不断增加,而当大多数申请家庭都具备相似的优秀特质时,如何从众多竞争者中脱颖而出就是申请准备的要点。在此次宣讲会中,我们将向您揭晓在激烈竞争中崭露头角的秘笈!

在本次宣讲会我们将探讨以下重点:

  • 2021申请趋势分析
  • 私校究竟在找寻什么样的家庭?
  • 个案分析
  • KEY教你打磨家庭的独特闪光点

日期&地址:

  • 2020 年 3月 4号,Oak 校区 5750 Oak Street, 5th Floor,Vancouver
  • 2020 年 3 月 5号,West Vancouver 校区 2420 Haywood Ave, West Vancouver

活动流程

  • 10:00 - 11:30 主题探讨
  • 11:30 - 12:00 Q&A问答时间
  • 12:00 - 12:30 申请顾问现场咨询
  • (现场备有精美茶点)

*凡报名座谈会的家长,即可获得一次的免费的孩子360全方位测评与顾问咨询预约,为您的申请之路指点迷津。

***请家长记得携带孩子最近一期的Final Report Card***。

2018-19学年KEY帮助100多个家庭顺利录进全球顶尖私立学校

专击私校入学的小小学者春季课程,旨在帮助学生提早准备私校申请,多方面提升个人软硬实力!春季课程将根据KEY的早教体系蓝图,从学生的三大核心能力(社交能力、英语能力、学术能力)方面奠定坚实基础。

课程概述 Programs Overview

学生在进入春季课程前,将由KEY的专业幼教老师进行测评,老师会依照测评结果报告家长孩子当前的私校申请准备度,并给予孩子合宜的课程规划。学生将在ELL课程中奠定稳固的英语能力,并通过三大主流早教教学法培养6 Cs核心软实力,同时进行学术能力提升。当您的孩子经过系统性的培训,达到私校申请所要求的能力水平,便可顺利进入秋季的私校准备课程进行最后冲刺,完胜私校录取。

KEY 独特之处

世界英语教师协会 (TESOL) 与早期幼儿教育 (ECE) 认证教师
三大 ECE 主题教室
小班级制 (师生比不超过1比8)

课程概述 Programs Overview:

KEY的小小学者综合早教课程以私校所看重的“社交能力、学术能力、英语能力”三大核心能力为基础,发展出了七门课程替学生进行全面的基础奠定与学术提升。老师将依照学生测评结果,针对弱点项目进行加强提升,培养学生具备进入PSP(私校预备课程)阶段所需的水平。

English Proficiency英语能力

ELL (English Language Learning)

这门课旨在通过阅读、写作、听力和口语练习,建立学生的自尊心和自信心,与他们的学术能力齐头并进。奠定良好的英语基础将是未来迈向成功的学术之路与个人成就的重要基石。

Academics 学术提升

CCC 创造力、沟通能力、自信心

这门课將通过艺术与自我表达的方式鼓励学生勇于表达自我,并且通过老师的鼓励增强学生的沟通能力与自信心。 同时学生将通过探索艺术史,发展思辨决策能力,进而使学生与周围世界产生连结。

WRC 写作能力、阅读能力、自信心

这个项目旨在培养学生的写作、阅读和沟通的技巧。老师将通过互动式教学法进行授课,例如说故事时间、手眼协作任务、提高写作和口语表达能力的项目演练,以及图片-文字联想法来增加学生的词汇量,完成该课程将奠定学生写作能力的自信心。

MCC - 数学、沟通能力、自信心

在这门课中,学生将掌握该年龄阶段的数学概念,如加法、基础图形逻辑、数字描绘、辨认罗马数字。学生将通过探索艺术、语言理解、学习单、互动游戏的方法来掌握这些算术技能。

Soft Skills 软实力

Montessori 蒙特梭利

由Maria Montessori博士开发以学生为中心的教学法,教导基础常规和礼仪。 通过互动性和充满创造力的主题课程来鼓励学生培养自助能力与社交情感能力。课堂中老师将让学生自主探索,老师在一旁给予辅导指引的方式授课,学生将在课堂中发展数学逻辑概念、问题解决能力与语言能力。

Reggio 瑞吉欧

在这门课堂中,将聚焦于发展学生的个人性格、自信心与团队协作能力,学生将浸泡在KEY独特设计的瑞吉欧教室内,通过团队协作、沟通与理解能力的课程来探索学生的艺术、数学、语言能力和社交情感能力。

Waldorf 华德福

浸泡在KEY独特设计的华德福教室内,学生将通过戏剧表演、批判性思维分析和创作力课程来发展学生的好奇心、语言能力与社交情感能力。

课程概述 Programs Overview

PSP课程致力于替学生进行全面私校入学测验准备。 KEY经验丰富的老师将会通过模拟入学测验,使学生熟悉测验流程,确保在正式测验中将可发挥实力水平。 学生将每天分组轮流进行三大主流教学法的课程,如蒙特梭利、瑞吉欧、华德福,通过不同的教学法,学生将能够灵活运用所学​​的技巧来解决私校测验中的难题,此课程将使学生的私校申请准备最大化。

课程亮点 Program Highlights

认识私校测评流程
模拟私校入学测评
棱角打磨法

认识私校测评流程 Understanding the Private School Assessment Process

私立学校的申请过程非常严格和具有挑战性。因此彻底了解测评的步骤与指令是相当重要的基础,在这个阶段学生将学习私校测评的要点,同时熟悉测评中的重点指令单字,以确保能在测评中按照指令完成任务。

模拟私校入学测评Simulations of private school applications

在学生具备私校测评流程的基础知识后,将进入KEY独家的模拟私校入学测评阶段,由KEY多年的经验累积所设计出的模拟测验,在测验中将考验学生的三大核心能力“学术能力、社交能力、英语能力”,测评中将包含写作测验、情境式测验(问题解决能力)与团队协作测验,同时老师将会观察每一位学员的测评表现,在测评后给予指导,帮助学生将熟悉各式的私校测评模式。

KEY棱角打磨法 Skills Development to Stand Out

通过模拟测评的观察,老师将依照每位学生的表现进行KEY棱角打磨法,针对孩子的弱点项目进行高效补强,在进入正式的私校测评前进行最终的准备度审核,并依照学生的个人特质激发出个人闪光点,使学生在竞争激烈的私校申请中,可以从众多的申请者中脱颖而出,得到招生官的青睐。

常见问题

KEY的全面早教体系与 其他早教方法相比有什么好处?

A: 本课程是温哥华唯一专击私校入学的全面早教体系。我们将使用不同的角度帮助您的孩子考入私校, 包含模拟入学测试, 家长指导, 和私校申请协助。 还有, 许多传统早教方法只关心孩子的心理成长, 不太在乎他们的学术基础与成绩。我们的课程虽然综合了三种西方教育方法(蒙特梭利,华德福和瑞吉欧), 却亦添加了我们多年帮助学生考入名校的实战经验。因此, 本课程既注重学术基础(社交语言训练、强化英语等),又培养孩子的竞争优势(礼仪举止、自律等), 非常迎合现代家长的需要。

孩子为什么要早教教育?

A: "三岁定八十", 孩子3-6岁是运动、语言、感知能力的学习黄金期! 还有, 私校入学竞争越来越大。早教课程能发掘孩子全面智力,创造力和社交潜能, 以模拟私校测评环境准备孩子成为私校争取的学生, “开启”成功升学之路。

早教真的可以帮助孩子私校面试吗?

A: 私校面试固然有心法与诀窍。但子女平时的成绩和个人成长是要靠日积月累的努力和正确的指导。本课程根据KEY多年帮助学生考入顶尖学校的经验, 创造了温哥华唯一专击私校入学的全面早教课程, 教出自律、自信、自动自发的一流学生!

2021 Private School Admissions Seminar #3

What Private Schools Want: Your Guide to Admissions Success

Think applying for private school is straightforward? Think again! The number of students applying to private schools is growing every year. Their families have impressive credentials. The students have high academic abilities. How will your family stand out from the crowd?

Before diving headfirst into the application process, take some time to understand how that process has changed in 2021. Simply filling out application forms and showing up for interviews won't be enough. Building up your family's portfolio, and building your child's track record of accomplishments takes time, planning, and expertise. With a solid strategy, your family can beat the competition and gain a coveted spot in your school of choice.

In this seminar, we'll share in-depth guidance and insight for navigating the application process successfully.

Topics include:

  • Application trends for 2021 that you need to know
  • What the top private schools are looking for
  • Case studies of successful applications
  • How KEY can help your family stand out from the competition

Seminar dates:

  • Wednesday, March 4, 2020: 5750 Oak Street, 5th Floor, Vancouver
  • Thursday, March 5, 2020: 2420 Haywood Ave, West Vancouver

Agenda

  • 10:00 - 11:00 Seminar
  • 11:00 - 11:30 Group Q&A
  • 11:30 - 12:00 One-on-one time with enrolment experts

(Refreshments will be provided)

*After the seminar, our admissions advisors will offer one-on-one, comprehensive recommendations for next steps in the preparation process based on your child’s most recent report card.

***Please bring your child’s most recent final report card.***

KEY has helped more than 100 families gain admissions to top private schools during the academic year 2018-19.

Give your child a head start in the admission process by signing up for our Spring into Private School programs, which will help your child build a strong foundation in the three core skill areas that schools are looking for; social emotional, English proficiency, and academic skills. Our systematic and comprehensive curriculum is designed to help your child develop, grow, and demonstrate these key competencies.

Program Overview

Prior to beginning the Spring session, each student will receive a personalized learning plan is based on the results of an intake assessment conducted by KEY’s Preschool Educators. During the Spring semester, students will advance their English-language proficiency, develop their core 6 Cs skills, and receive rigorous academic training. Our curriculum is designed to help students meet and exceed the standards required by the private school admission processes. Upon successful completion of the Spring Program, students will be able to take KEY’s unique Private School Preparation in the fall semester, where they will receive further coaching to successfully attain admission to the school of their choice.

The KEY Difference

ECE and TESOL trained teacher
Uniquely designed ECE classrooms
Smaller group sizes of a ratio of 1-8

Programs Overview

KEY’s Little Scholars program is based on the three core components: soft skills, academic readiness and English proficiency which are greatly valued by private schools. Our educators developed seven courses to build a solid foundation, ensure academic readiness and create social-emotional competency for students. Based on our assessment results, teachers will strengthen a student’s areas of weakness, bringing them to the level necessary for the PSP course

English Proficiency

ELL (English Language Learning)

This class is designed to build self-esteem and confidence, which go hand-in-hand with the academic competencies: reading, writing, listening and speaking. KEY's ELL program forms the foundation for creating a successful pathway of academic and personal achievements for your child.

Academics

CCC (Creativity, Communication, Confidence)

This class is intended to enhance your little learner’s confidence by encouraging communication through art and self-expression. Students will explore art history, develop critical thinking skills, and make connections to the world around them.

WRC ( Writing, Reading, Confidence)

This program is designed to develop skills in writing, reading and communicating confidently. Your little scholar will build their confidence through interactive learning such as story time, fine motor tasks, projects that promote written and verbal competency, and picture-word association.

MCC (Math, Communication, Confidence)

During this class, your little learner’s confidence will grow by mastering age-appropriate mathematical concepts such as addition, pattern identification, and tracing activities. Students will use art, verbal comprehension, worksheets, games, and interactive activities to master these skills in numeracy.

Soft Skills

Montessori

This method, developed by Dr. Maria Montessori, is a child-centred educational approach which uses etiquette, structure, and routine to encourage students to explore their self-help and social-emotional capabilities.Through interactive and creative themes, little scholars will also develop math concepts, problem-solving, and language proficiency.

Reggio

This program focuses on the soft skills of character building, confidence and collaboration through immersing the students in a Reggio-inspired classroom. Students are encouraged to explore their artistic, mathematical, linguistic proficiency, and social-emotional capabilities through collaboration, communication, and comprehension.

Waldorf

In a Waldorf-inspired classroom, students are invited to expand their curiosity, develop their linguistic proficiency, and strengthen their social-emotional competency through dramatic play, critical analysis, and creative activities.

Program Overview

PSP classes are dedicated to thoroughly preparing a child for private school application to any institution. Our experienced teachers have planned the curriculum to simulate the private school application process for students so they succeed. During this semester, children will be grouped each day to experience a different classroom philosophy; Reggio, Montessori, and Waldorf. Encountering many different methodologies, while maintaining routine and structure, allow students to develop the skills that are vital to ensure your little scholar is optimally ready for private school.

Program Highlights

Understanding the Private School Application Process
Simulated private school assessment
Skills Development to Stand Out

Understanding the Private School Assessment Process

The Private School Application process is very rigorous and challenging. In order for an applicant to be successful, a thorough understanding of this procedure is necessary. Students will learn the steps and vocabulary terms so they are prepared.

Simulations of private school applications

After developing an understanding of the components of the application, students will work through many scenarios which simulate the entire process. Tasks include writing, problem-solving, and teamwork.

Skills Development to Stand Out

Students will participate in specifically designed classroom activities to reinforce necessary skills which allow them to stand out from their fellow applicants.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the advantages of KEY’s ECE system compared to other early education methods?

A: This program is the only early childhood education system in Vancouver that targets private school admission. We will help with your child enter top private schools through a multitude of activities, from simulated admission tests to parental and application support. Also, unlike many traditional ECE methods that value a child’s mental development over academic performance, our program combines our years of experience with private school admissions with three popular early childhood education philosophies: Montesorri, Waldolf, and Reggio-Emilia. As a result, our program is exactly what parents have asked for: a curriculum that can improve both academic foundations (Example: social communications and English proficiency) and personal advantages (examples: social etiquette and self-discipline).

Why early childhood education?

A:“The child is father of the man.” Age 3-6 is a child’s golden time to improve their language, sports, and awareness skills. Also, private school admission is becoming increasingly competitive. An Early Education Program can help uncover your children’s total intelligence, creativity, and social skills. Through stimulated private school assessment tests, they can also develop themselves into model students desired by private schools, thus unlocking their academic pathway to the future.

Can ECE really help with private school admission interviews?

A: There are certainly techniques that can be applied during private schools interviews. However, a child’s academic performance and personal growth relies on everyday development with the right guidance. Our program is based on our experience of helping many students enter top schools over the years. It is the first early childhood education program to focus on private school admissions in Canada, and can help build your child’s self-discipline, confidence, and drive for academic success.